WSOC: Armstrong nominated for St.John's Athlete of the Year

WSOC: Armstrong nominated for St.John's Athlete of the Year

City's best for 2017 will be announced Monday night


St.John's, NL -  Finalists have been named for the 2017 Molson Coors St. John's athlete of the year awards and the list of nominees includes two winners from 2016.


Finalists for the female athlete of the year award are all-star varsity athletes. Included are soccer players Alyssa Armstrong and Jessie Noseworthy, and volleyballer Jill Snow.

Noseworthy almost won the St. John's award last year, as she and baseball player Heather Healey both finished a single point behind soccer player Hannah Rivkin.

Both Armstrong and Noseworthy played for the Holy Cross women's soccer champions, with Noseworthy finishing as top scorer in provincial Jubilee Trophy play and also being named league MVP.

Both were Jubilee Trophy all-stars and AUS first-team all-stars — Armstrong for the 2017 conference champion Cape Breton Capers and Noseworthy after once again leading the Memorial Sea-Hawks in scoring. Armstrong was part of the CBU CAPERS National Silver medal team.

The 2017 winners will be named at a banquet Monday night at the Foran/Greene Room at St. John's City Hall.